The Experiment

I have some places where I’d like to test God’s principles and see how much freedom I experience as a result. I have some places I’ve been holding on tight and I’d like to let go and see what happens. I have some secret fears and vices that I let define me and I’d like to erase them and let God fill in the blank. It’s like an experiment of sorts. It’s an act of trust even more. It’s a need to experience God in these areas. It’s a need for freedom.

  • Finances.
  • Generosity.
  • Hospitality.
  • Simplicity.
  • Consumption.
  • Face to face.
  • Getting down and dirty.
  • Purity.
  • Gracious parenting.
  • Discipleship.
  • Availability.
  • Solitude.

 

I don’t know what your areas are. I don’t know where your fears are. I don’t which parts of God you have a hard time trusting. But I do know that all of us long to be part of a story bigger than ourselves and we just aren’t sure where to start. I’ve been thinking about this for months—even years.

I want my story to matter.

And I as I flipped the pages of scripture this morning I realized that every story inside—every person recorded on the pages—lived a life that continues to teach. And as I flipped those pages, I got to the title page and realized that I’ve been going about it all wrong. I’ve been imagining my story as a book of it’s own. A title with my name. Chapters recording years and seasons.

My story will only matter if it’s part of a larger collaboration. It will matter when other stories intertwine and plots intersect and characters are entangled and the cover never mentions my name.

Ambition is not part of my story unless I’m ambitious to live Christ.

Success is not part of my story unless I’m successful in distributing His love.

Comfort is taken for granted, may I be uncomfortable with its presence.

Security has been my treasure. May I open the box and let others enjoy.

Discipline has been my measure. May I be as patient with my children and God is with me.

Time has been my possession. May I learn some balance.

My home has been my refuge. May I open the door and find others waiting to come in.

Closets are filled with items I can’t seem to let go. May my hands be open and generous with those who need.

My serving has been confined within the walls of the church. May I not stop there—may I become the church I dream of.

 

I don’t know where I’m going to start. I haven’t read Seven…but I know the principles are similar. I just know I need to start slowly and conversationally, and that I need to get my children on board so that we are doing this thing together.

What would our weeks look like if my children helped plan the calendar? What would our dinners look like if my kids helped invite the guests?

What would our budget look like if I asked my kids about priorities?

Where would we serve our city if I asked my kids what people needed?

It’s a family overhaul. And I can’t do it alone. May the Spirit in them and the Spirit in me write our stories together. May they write them on the pages of a book titled Jesus. And when we die, may every one know the Main Character who guided our steps.

What areas of your life do you need to let go and let God do His thing through you? 

Where am I going to start? Probably with a family meeting. I’ll let you know how it goes.

3 thoughts on “The Experiment

  1. I absolutely love this! You are one raw individual. You inspire me to find the depth and truth that awates within. I desire to be honest and to be an open book in spite of the judgement in order to reach the lost. I receive the challenge to relinquish to Christ. Thanks for sharing with transparency!

    1. Brandi, go girl! I’ll be thinking of you as we do… Thank you for reading. I think this experiment is about to get a little crazy. I’m sitting down to talk to the hubs tonight. A couple years ago, I desperately wanted to leave everything here behind and go somewhere ‘there’ and serve. I was ready to say goodbye to so many things in order to embrace God in His simple call. It just hit me this week that I can do that same thing here. It’s just harder because it isn’t the norm. I’m going to have to learn to let go while most continue to hold on. But I have to do it, do you know what I mean? I have to cut the anchor. Thanks for taking time to comment. Also…I think I saw you inquire via email a few weeks ago and I couldn’t respond. I do not have plans to be in Ohio yet. But if you hear of something going on and want to throw my name in the pot, I’d love to meet you!

  2. Yes it’s harder than I thought! I am disconnecting from social media and distraction in general in order to focus on consciously relinquishing to Christ. Fasting is extremely sobering for me, I love it. Yes I did inquire about your coming to Ohio. I currently live in Nebraska but this Friday I will be moving back to Ohio after four years. I watched the message “I Am Jesus” and I was blown away! I have watched it four times in the last week lol. I will definitely keep you in mind for any events that I hear of or plan. I would love to meet you. Thank you so much for your words of encouragement.

Leave a Reply

