Will You Drink with Me?

A_cup_of_tea_3_by_JunKarloEven now my relationship with God can feel superficial. I love God. I love people. And I am grateful each time I open my eyes to a room bathed in morning light.

However, my love for God is more of a gratitude toward Him rather than an intimate knowledge of Him. And like a beggar who has been given provision for just one more day, I watch Him deposit grace in my cup and continue on his way, doing the same for the next beggar. He is faithful, generous, and mysterious, and I am grateful.

But something has been stirring in me. Imagine when the beggar just wants company. Imagine if I were to look up into His eyes as He drops grace in the cup and ask Him, “Can you stay for a while? Will you sit with me while I drink of Your grace and can we talk?”

This is my cry. And throughout Scripture, when God’s people cry out to Him, He answers in miraculous ways. Think Exodus, exile, the rebuilding of Jerusalem, the coming of the Messiah.

If you’re thirsty, join me. We’re going to embark upon Richard Foster’s Celebration of Discipline right here. We are going to learn to embody the inward disciplines of meditation, prayer, fasting, and study. Then we’ll move into the outward disciplines of simplicity, solitude, submission, and service. Finally, we’ll be shoulder to shoulder as we discuss confession, worship, guidance, and celebration.

If this is going to work, we are going to have to do more than talk about it. We’ll have to carry the discipline with us: while we shower, wash dishes, change diapers, commute to work, share coffee, fight for marriages, struggle with finances. These Divine Disciplines must define the DNA of our every day—from that first bath of morning light to the silver threads of night that lull us to sleep.

You’re invited. Let’s learn. This is a call to deep.

Superficiality is a curse of our age. The doctrine of instant satisfaction is a primary spiritual problem. The desperate need today is not for a great number of intelligent people, or gifted people, but for deep people” (Foster, p. 1).

 

4 thoughts on “Will You Drink with Me?

  1. Looks like I’ll have to dig out my copy of Celebration of Discipline. It’s beautifully marked up with notes, highlights, and personal thoughts – about time I reread it 🙂

    1. It’s been sitting on my shelf for six months waiting for me to finish classes! I feel like my mind has learned intimacy with God, but that there are other components of our being that also desire communion with Him and Foster has an incredible way of speaking into that desire. I’m super excited! I’ve been waiting for a long time to learn how to pray, fast, serve–and the chapter on solitude is AMAZING (I totally skipped ahead 😉 ).

Leave a Reply

