Letters To My Younger Self – “Without Wishing Foward”

I am floored by the number of women who sought to fill the need for love through a tangible source. Do I still do this? Even as a married woman, I am forced to pause and reflect–have I learned to turn to God as the source of all love? Am I tempted to allow my children, husband, or friends fill that void?
Yesterday was Valentine’s Day and we don’t celebrate with flowers or candy, instead, we piled on the sofa and watched a video called Dispatches from the Front: I Once Was Blind, But Now I See. Men, women, and children in the western countries of Africa, the coastal grave of America’s slave trade, were so passionate, so unashamed, of Jesus. And my heart overflowed with love for my family and for the men and woman working relentlessly to spread love and truth.
Where does this overflow come from? Why is it so powerful? When we allow time to be filled by God, the emerging beauty is unspeakable. And I believe it can change the world.
What’s your chrysalis? Can you remember a time when the waiting produced beauty? Or conversely, when the impatience brought heartache? From today’s anonymous contributor:

Wait…Be patient … enjoy each moment without wishing for the next.  These moments will go by fast and you will be filled with regret of times lost.

Wait … Be patient … Don’t try to be someone else.  Just be yourself.  Others will see the beauty in the truth.

Wait … Be patient … See the beauty you have within.  Don’t’ try to create superficial beauty that doesn’t exist.

Wait … Be patient … don’t give your heart away just yet.

Wait … Be patient … see this guy for who he truly is.  Don’t let your heart be blinded by impatience and fear.

Wait … Be patient …Give Jesus your heart first.

Wait … Be patient … Don’t try to fill that void with something else.  You will only fail.

Wait … Be patient …You are looking for love but what God has in store is truly worth waiting for.

“I waited patiently for the Lord; he turned to me and heard my cry. He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire; he set me feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand.
He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God. Many will see and fear and put their trust in the Lord.” Psalm 40.1-4.
This letter is part of a series. To add your voice to the collaboration email me.
One thought on “Letters To My Younger Self – “Without Wishing Foward”

  1. Waiting and patience…oh what a classroom!
    And then the new song…worth the wait? Yes.
    Thank you for your letter…would love to know who you are 🙂

Leave a Reply

