Please Hang On

I’m working through Eve this week on the Bad Girls’ Guide to Intimacy. I’m reminded of the seasons of discontent my husband and I have walked through, but more than that, I’m reminded we made it. As my heart aches for the marriages around me that are crumbling, I sent this over to my man today–in celebration of us.

 

“As I write today, I celebrate my marriage and that we made it. Nine years in and the war we waged for unity has brought peace. Nathan, As I revisit the hardest years of our marriage, I say they are worth it, and I love you more because the skin that holds us together is tougher, resilient, and yet soft and nurturing in a way it wasn’t before.”

 

So I ask you to hang on if you are in the middle of this war. It’s worth it.

 

6 thoughts on “Please Hang On

  1. Have you heard the song, “Dancing in the Minefields” by Andrew Peterson. One of my absolute favorites. Here are some of the lyrics:

    “I do” are the two most famous last words
    The beginning of the end
    But to lose your life for another I’ve heard
    Is a good place to begin

    ‘Cause the only way to find your life
    Is to lay your own life down
    And I believe it’s an easy price
    For the life that we have found

    And we’re dancing in the minefields
    We’re sailing in the storm
    This is harder than we dreamed
    But I believe that’s what the promise is for

    So when I lose my way, find me
    When I loose love’s chains, bind me
    At the end of all my faith, till the end of all my days
    When I forget my name, remind me

    ‘Cause we bear the light of the Son of Man
    So there’s nothing left to fear
    So I’ll walk with you in the shadowlands
    Till the shadows disappear

    ‘Cause he promised not to leave us
    And his promises are true
    So in the face of all this chaos, baby,
    I can dance with you

    1. Heather, That gives me hope! 26 years is amazing… and thank you, the most wonderful thing about sharing is realizing I’m not alone!

  2. Ah…the scent of the Lord and HIS grace and mercies are all over the two of you and your testimony of HIS work to the watching world!
    Love you both,
    Karen

Leave a Reply

