Slum of Souls

Saint Augustine writes in Confessions, “Narrow are the mansions of my soul…expand upon it, Lord. It lies in ruins, repair it, Lord.”
And I wonder if mansion isn’t a relative term and if my soul is a slum where only God wants to live; where He finds beauty… and an unexpected symmetry.
Although only 8 a.m., my eyes have taken flight through a world of slums and returned to my home and yes, mansion depends upon one’s vantage point. In a country where my shed is larger than these houses, I long to see Jesus…

One thought on “Slum of Souls

Leave a Reply

